Principal Investigator

Dr. Luyi Yang (杨鲁懿)
Associate Professor of Physics
PhD: UC Berkeley (2013)
BS: Tsinghua University (2007)

Office: Room C408, Department of Physics
Email: luyi-yang(at)mail(dot)tsinghua(dot)edu(dot)cn

Dr. Yang's research interests focus on the development of novel optical spectroscopies and their application to problems at the forefront of condensed matter and materials physics. She received her B.S. (with Honors) in physics and mathematics from Tsinghua University (2007) under the supervision of Prof. Bangfen Zhu. She earned her Ph.D. in physics from the University of California at Berkeley (2013) working on ultrafast spin dynamics in semiconductors in the group of Prof. Joseph Orenstein. Then she worked as a Los Alamos Director’s Postdoctoral Fellow at the National High Magnetic Field Laboratory at Los Alamos with Dr. Scott Crooker. She became an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto in 2016. She joined the Department of Physics, Tsinghua University in September 2019. In her spare time, Luyi enjoys physical activities and is a big fan of volleyball.

Thousand Young Talents Award, 2018.
Canada Research Chair in Ultrafast Dynamics of Quantum Materials, 2017.
CIFAR Azrieli Global Scholar Fellowship, 2016.
LANL Director’s Postdoctoral Fellowship, 2014.

Administrative Assistant

Congrong Qiu (邱从容)

Office: Room C305, Department of Physics
Email: qiucongrong(at)mail(dot)tsinghua(dot)edu(dot)cn

Graduate Students

F. Michael Bartram (付麦克)
PhD student (UofT)

BS: Simon Fraser University (2016)
Office: D304
Lab: C224
Email: fbartram(at)physics(dot)utoronto(dot)ca

Haochen Zhang (张昊晨)
PhD student (UofT)

BS: Wuhan University (2016)
Office: D304
Lab: C224
Email: hzhan1(at)physics(dot)utoronto(dot)ca

Zhixuan Bi (毕芷瑄)
PhD student

BS: Northwestern Polytechnical University (2018)
Office: C205
Lab: C224
Email: bzx18(at)mails(dot)tsinghua(dot)edu(dot)cn

Mengqian Che (车梦倩)
PhD student

BS: Jiling University (2018)
Office: C205
Lab: C110
Email: cmq18(at)mails(dot)tsinghua(dot)edu(dot)cn

Liangyang Liu (刘良洋)
PhD student

BS: Tsinghua University (2019)
Office: C205
Lab: C110
Email: liangyan19(at)mails(dot)tsinghua(dot)edu(dot)cn

Undergraduate Students

Yidian Li (李义典)
4th year undergraduate

Email: liyd17(at)mails(dot)tsinghua(dot)edu(dot)cn

Ziqiang Guan (管梓强)
3rd year undergraduate

Email: guan-zq18(at)mails(dot)tsinghua(dot)edu(dot)cn

Zhijie Wu (吴致颉)
3rd year undergraduate

Email: wu-zx18(at)mails(dot)tsinghua(dot)edu(dot)cn

Visiting Scholars

Qinwen Deng (邓钦文)
Visiting Ph.D. Student from UPenn

BS: Nanjing University (2020)
Office: D304
Lab: C224
Email: qwdeng(at)sas(dot)upenn(dot)edu


Kyle Hwangbo (M.Sc. 2017-2018; → PhD student at the University of Washington)
Liqun He (Undergraduate research course 2017-2018; → graduate student at the University of Ottawa)
Felix Frontini (USRA Scholarship Summer 2018, undergraduate research course 2018-2019; → graduate student at the University of Toronto)
Ryan Ripsman (SURF Scholarship Summer 2018)
Di Zhou (SURF Scholarship Summer 2017)